Get Motivated Seminar – My Experience

On Monday, November 1, 2010 I attended a business seminar called “Get Motivated” at the Georgia Dome, located in Atlanta, Georgia. Some of the speakers present were Rudy Giuliani, Bill Cosby, Zig Ziglar, Gen. Colin Powell, Lou Holtz, Goldie Hawn, Rick Belluzo, Brian Tracy, Gen. Stanley McChrystal, Steve Forbes, and a few others. It was a seminar I had been planning to attend for the past two months. Ever since I began my journey of self-development and becoming a life long learner, I have been focusing on reading as much as I can and began researching motivational seminars around the country in order to grow to my full potential in life. I read in a book that I cannot remember in order to give credit to, the following statement, “In order to rise above the crowd, you need to do what the crowd is not willing to do”.
The seminar was absolutely amazing and I took as many notes as possible while trying to keep up with the speaker’s enthusiasm. It was a full day event that I personally believe had a strong impact both in my conscious and subconscious mind.
My favorite speakers are Zig Ziglar and Brian Tracy because I own several books and audio books by them, but my favorite speaker for the day was Lou Holtz. Among many interesting things that Lou spoke about, one thing he said that impacted me was, “every single one of us needs something to do, someone to love, something to hope for, and someone to believe in”. Lou also mentioned the following very simple but impacting statements, “If I have fun doing something, people will have fun watching”, “Everything starts with a dream and you cannot let other people control your attitude”, “Titles come from above, leaders come from below”, “There are two types of people, those that lift people up and those that pull people down”. These were just a few statements from my notes but I truly believe in them. In order to succeed in life we have to continually grow and move further. I am doing my best to program myself for success and be a significant individual that lifts people up among the society who are mostly negative and divided now a days, therefore his words will definitely stay in my mind as I continue to grow.
Another amazing speaker and my all time favorite was Zig Ziglar. Unfortunately, before he came on stage, his daughter made an announcement that her father had suffered an accident two years prior and she would be accompanying him up on stage so she could remind him of what he would be speaking about. It was a sad but very inspirational moment, because he still found a way to do what he loved to do, despite his current situation. They have called Zig Ziglar, “The speaker’s motivational speaker”. Zig Ziglar stated that marriage is the most important decision you can make and what was so amazing was the fact that Zig Ziglar mentioned how much he loved his wife, whom he called “the read head” about three times, while mentioning that he could not have had such a significant life without her. It’s interesting that he made the same comment about his wife several times due to his short-term memory loss and his passion and love for her. Another amazing thing he mentioned was, “You can have whatever you want in life, if you help enough people get what they want.
Bill Cosby was another great speaker who had lots of charisma and showed us why he’s such a successful comedian. Every speaker was absolutely terrific and I have several pages of notes that I will look back at constantly to recall such an amazing day.

About blessedwarrior

I am 28 and significant, focusing how I can help others
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

